Kansas: 2018 Bills to Oppose

Legislation Season 101

  • HB Bills start in the House, SB Bills start in the Senate
  • Bills must be approved by both House and Senate to be sent to the Governor
  • Governor approves the bill to make it law or vetoes the bill
Information regarding who to contact about these bills is found at the bottom of this page.

1st Amendment Violations

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2444 Prohibits the Board of Trustees of the Kansas Public Employee Retirement System (KPERS) from investing any KPERS funds in companies with certain business operations in Sudan Passed House. Referred to Senate Committee on Financial Institutions and Insurance. Approved By Governor 4/18
HB 2612 Makes it a crime for individuals to wear any sort of headgear concealing their identity during protests. This is a clear 1st amendment violation and is obviously a partisan response to Antifa protestors. Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

Civil Asset Forfeiture

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2001 Removes current transparency measures when property is seized. Referred to Committee on Judiciary

Criminal Justice Reform

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2035 Takes rights away from defendants who have received an "illegal sentence." Passed House. Referred to Senate Committee on Judiciary
HB 2049 Increases penalties for certain crimes against police officers. Passed House. Referred to Senate Committee on Judiciary
HB 2070 Makes termination reports, complaints, reports, records, or other information relating to a complaint to be confidential and not subject to disclosure under the Kansas Open Records Act except under the circumstances specified by this bill. Passed House. Referred to Senate Committee on Judiciary
SB 199 Current law allows appellants a supersedeas bond as surety in order to delay payment of a judgment until the appeal is over. This bill would appeal that, forcing the appellant to pay while still in the appeals process, regardless of claims of hardship. Senate Nonconcurred with amendments; Conference Committee requested

Education/Funding

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2445 This bill attempts to curb K-12 spending through multiple measures, in a time when the supreme court has ruled that schools are inadequately funded. Referred to Committee of K-12 Budget Funding; Referred to Senate Select Committee on Education Finance

Employment Rights

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2185 Allows local governments to implement policies that would allow for discrimination in hiring. Withdrawn from Committee on Appropriations; Rereferred to Committee on Commerce, Labor and Economic Development

Environmental Justice

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2060 Increases registration fees for hybrid vehicles from $35 to $75 and increases the registration fees for electric vehicles from $35 to $150. Referred to Committee on Transportation
HB 2452 Limits the duration of conservation easements. Hearing Thursday, January 18th

Government Transparency

Bill Number Effects Status
SB 394 Amends the definition of a lobbyist, increases meal expenditure limit to $100, and removes meal expenditure limit in certain cases. Passed Senate. Passed out of House committee; Presented to Governor; Approved by Governor
SB 418 Allows information obtained from FOIA requests to the secretary of state to be sold. This is a clear voter suppression tactic. Referred to Committee on Federal and State Affairs

Gun Legislation

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2042 Recognizes Conceal Carry permits issued in other states. Passed House. Passed Senate Committee.
HB 2081 If passed, public employers would not be liable for any wrongful or negligent act of an employee carrying a concealed handgun. Referred to Committee on Federal and State Affairs
HB 2460 Incorporates NRA sponsored gun education programs into public school curriculum, starting with kindergarten. Passed out of House Committee

Healthcare

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2119 Allows certain dental materials to be dropped from insurance coverage. Referred to Committee on Health and Human Services
HB 2598 Allows information obtained from FOIA requests to the secretary of state to be sold. This can be used as a voter suppression tactic. Bill is dead!

Immigration

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2643 Proposes to eliminate in-state tuition for Kansas high school kids who do not have legal status. Died in committee!

Juvenile Justice

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2453 Allows for a fee to be charged to juveniles for intervention programs that are currently free. Hearing Thursday, January 25

LGBTQIA+ Rights

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2171 This is the anti-transgender, unconstitutional bathroom bill that we have seen pass into law in states like North Carolina. Referred to Committee on Federal and State Affairs
SB 401 Provides that a child placement agency is not required to place a child if the placement would be in violation of the agency's religious beliefs. Referred to Committee on Federal and State Affairs

Marijuana Legislation

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2566 Makes the criminal penalty for possession of THC equal to the criminal penalty of possession of marijuana. We should be decriminalizing THC; this does just the opposite. Passed House. Referred to Senate Committee on Judiciary
SB 282 Adds several opioids, including Kratom, to the list of schedule 1 drugs. While these drugs obviously need to be regulated, prison time is not the answer to drug addiction. Passed Senate.Passed out of House committee
HB 2465 Requires VA employees to complete pre-employment drug screening. Passed House. Passed out of Senate committee

Reproductive Rights

Bill Number Effects Status
SB 397 Provides for a "Choose Life" state license plate. Senate Hearing Wednesday, February 14

Tax Policy

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2083 Allows counties to deny vehicle registration if property taxes are delinquent. This type of policy disparately impacts low income communities and prolongs the cycle of poverty. Referred to Committee on Taxation

Voting Rights / Election Procedures

Bill Number Effects Status
HB 2075 Creates unconstitutional bifurcated voter registration roles. Referred to Committee on Elections
HB 2117 Would allow cities or counties to regulate political signs on private property during the days leading up to an election. This seems like a violation of the 1st amendment. Referred to Committee on Elections
HB 2157 Adds a signed affidavit as sufficient proof of United States citizenship that a person must swear to under oath when registering to vote. It should be noted that it voter fraud is already a crime. This unnecessary hoop just adds another step to an already cumbersome voter registration process. Referred to Committee on Elections
HB 2256 Changes electioneering law to allow clothings, signs, and posters directly across the street from the polling place. Also amends the radius for unlawful electioneering from 250 to 100. Passed House. Passed out of Senate Committee
HB 2598 Allows information obtained from FOIA requests to the secretary of state to be sold. This feels like a voter suppression tactic. Bill is dead!

Who to contact in the House

To Share Your Opinion On 1st Amendment Violations

Committee on Financial Institutions and Pensions
Chair, Jim Kelly: Jim.Kelly@house.ks.gov, 785-296-6014
Chair, Randy Howell: Randy.Powell@house.ks.gov, 785-296-5593
Ranking Democrat, Gail Finney: Gail.Finney@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7649

To Share Your Opinion On Civil Asset Forfeiture

Committee on Judiciary
Chair, Blaine Finch: Blaine.Finch@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7655
Vice Chair, Fred Patton: Fred.Patton@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7460
Ranking Democrat, John Carmichael: John.Carmichael@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7650

To Share Your Opinion On Criminal Justice Reform

Committee on Judiciary
Chair, Blaine Finch: Blaine.Finch@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7655
Vice Chair, Fred Patton: Fred.Patton@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7460
Ranking Democrat, John Carmichael: John.Carmichael@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7650

To Share Your Opinion On Criminal Justice Reform (SB 199)

Conference Committee
Representative Blaine Finch: Blaine.Finch@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7655
Representative Brad Ralph: Brad.Ralph@house.ks.gov, 785 296-7501
Representative John Carmichael: John.Carmichael@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7650

To Share Your Opinion On Education/Funding

Senate Select Committee on Education Finance
Chair, Molly Baumgardner: Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov, 785-296-7368
Vice Chair, Jim Denning: Jim.Denning@senate.ks.gov, 785-296-2497
Ranking Democrat, Anthony Hensley: Anthony.Hensley@senate.ks.gov, 785-296-3245

To Share Your Opinion On Employment Rights

Committee on Commerce, Labor, and Economic Development
Chair, Les Mason: Les.Mason@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7640
Vice Chair, Ken Corbet: Ken.Corbet@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7679
Ranking Democrat, Brandon Whipple: Brandon.Whipple@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7366

To Share Your Opinion On Environmental Justice (HB 2060)

Committee on Transportation
Chair, Richard Proehl: Richard.Proehl@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7639
Vice Chair, Shannon Francis: Shannon.Francis@house.ks.gov, 755-296-7466
Ranking Democrat, Adam Lusker: Adam.Lusker@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7698

To Share Your Opinion On Environmental Justice (HB 2452)

Committee on Water & Environment
Chair, Tom Sloan: Tom.Sloan@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7632
Vice Chair, Ken Rahjes: Ken.Rahjes@house.ks.gov, 755-296-7463
Ranking Democrat, Ponka-we Victors: Ponka-we.victors@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7651

To Share Your Opinion On Government Transparency

Contact your local Senator and urge them to vote no on the upcoming floor vote.

To Share Your Opinion On Gun Legislation

Committee on Federal and State Affairs
Chair, John Barker: John.Barker@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7674
Vice Chair, Ron Highland: Ron.Highland@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7310
Ranking Democrat, Louis Ruiz: Louis.Ruiz@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7885

To Share Your Opinion On Healthcare Policy

Committee on Health and Human Services
Chair, Daniel Hawkins: Daniel.Hawkins@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7631
Vice Chair, Susan Concannon: Susan.Concannon@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7644
Ranking Democrat, Monica Murnan: Monica.Murnan@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7426

To Share Your Opinion On Juvenile Justice

Committee on Corrections and Juvenile Justice
Chair, J. Russell Jennings: Russ.Jennings@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7447
Chair, John Whitmer: John.Whitmer@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7567
Ranking Democrat, Dennis “Boog” Highberger: Dennis.Boog.Highberger@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7122

To Share Your Opinion On LGBTQIA+ Rights

Committee on Federal and State Affairs
Chair, John Barker: John.Barker@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7674
Vice Chair, Ron Highland: Ron.Highland@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7310
Ranking Democrat, Louis Ruiz: Louis.Ruiz@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7885

To Share Your Opinion On Marijuana Legislation

Committee on Corrections and Juvenile Justice
Chair, J. Russell Jennings: Russ.Jennings@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7447
Chair, John Whitmer: John.Whitmer@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7567
Ranking Democrat, Dennis “Boog” Highberger: Dennis.Boog.Highberger@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7122

To Share Your Opinion On Tax Policy

Committee on Taxation
Chair, Steven Johnson: Steven.Johnson@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7696
Vice Chair, Tom Phillips: Tom.Phillips@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7402
Ranking Democrat, Tom Sawyer: Tom.Sawyer@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7691

To Share Your Opinion On Voting Rights / Election Procedures (HB 2075, HB 2117, HB 2157)

Committee on Elections
Chair, Keith Esau: Keith.Esau@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7688
Vice Chair, Blake Carpenter: Blake.Carpenter@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7567
Ranking Democrat, Vic Miller: Vic.Miller@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7656

To Share Your Opinion On Voting Rights / Election Procedures (HB 2598)

Committee on Federal and State Affairs
Chair, John Barker: John.Barker@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7674
Vice Chair, Ron Highland: Ron.Highland@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7310
Ranking Democrat, Louis Ruiz: Louis.Ruiz@house.ks.gov, 785-296-7885

To Share Your Opinion On Voting Rights / Election Procedures (HB 2256)

Contact your local Senator and urge them to vote no on the upcoming floor vote.

To Contact Your Representative Regarding Any Bill

  1. Visit https://openstates.org
  2. Enter your street address and click the magnifying glass icon
  3. Find your Representatives contact information at the right of the page
  4. Email or call and make your voice heard!